How to see who blocked you on Facebook

Who blocked me on Facebook? It’s a question many of us ask. Fortunately, there is a lot you can do if you suspect that someone has blocked you on Facebook.

Perhaps a good friend has suddenly started ignoring you. Or maybe you stopped seeing their posts in your feed. Are they just busy? Or did I do something wrong and get banned? Can you find out who blocked you?

Make a video today

We’ll show you how to find out who blocked you on Facebook, if someone else…

How do you know who blocked you on Facebook

You can’t know who has blocked you on Facebook directly, but there are some appropriate pointers to watch out for.

The first thing you should do is decide if you are blocked or unfriended (yes, that hurts too).

Can you still tag someone who has blocked you?

Let’s say you’ve found a meme that you want to show to a friend. Usually, you can simply tag them by typing their name and then clicking on the link relevant to their profile. They will be notified of the tag and see it the next time they log in.


But if you’re blocked by that person, you won’t be able to tag them in any posts — including memes, photos, and any posts you add to your (or someone else’s) timeline.

The ability to tag someone who has unfriended you on Facebook depends on the other person’s privacy settings. This also depends on the settings of the group you might be a part of: if the other person isn’t in the private group, you can’t tag them anyway.

Use Facebook’s search function to find out if you have been blocked

Find your friend on Facebook. Simply log in and you will see the search box at the top left of the page. Likewise, if you use the Facebook app to find out who has blocked you, you will find the search function at the top of your feed.

A list of profiles and pages will appear. Toggle results by pressing People. If you are blocked, their profile will not appear under this setting. However, if you are looking everybodyThere is a chance that you will see them, even if they block you.


If you see a display picture of the person you’re looking for, tap on it. You will be able to partially view the profile (depending on their privacy settings) if they simply unfriend you. But if you are blocked, you will not be able to access anything.

Use a mutual friend’s profile to check who has blocked you

You can now search for other tags. The easiest way is to head over to the profile of someone you know and the person who may have blocked you. You will be able to see a shortlist of their friends; Click show all. It should tell you how many contacts you have in common.

You can scroll through their contacts or just type in the field that reads “Find Friends”.

If you can see his name and his profile picture, you can sigh of relief, as this shows that he hasn’t blocked you.

If you can’t see them, there is another possible answer to their absence. They may have completely deactivated their account. We will come back to that later.

Can you read previous Facebook messages after blocking?

Here’s another trick, albeit based on your communication with this person before. This doesn’t help when it comes to relative strangers. (This possibility shouldn’t bother you too much. However, being prevented before you properly identify yourself can be annoying.)

Try to remember anything this contact wrote on your profile or – if you’ve stopped others from posting on your Facebook timeline – a mutual friend’s profile. This could be a birthday message, a festive greeting, or something casual.

They will remain visible regardless of your friendship status. However, if you are blocked, the other person’s profile picture will not appear, or it will be replaced with a question mark. Their names may also be covered in black boxes.


Still contacts that might prevent you from using Messenger?

If you have previously talked to this person using Facebook Messenger, this is another indicator that you can check.

You have to do this via the Facebook website because the app sometimes still shows blocked accounts.

go to the messenger section and click on See all in Messenger in the dropdown menu. Access the conversation you had with the contact. If you get banned, their profile picture won’t load, and is replaced with a standard gray outline. You won’t be able to click on their name to look at their profile either.

You can try sending them a message as well. If you get banned, your attempts will fail. Facebook will tell you that there is a temporary error.

How can you tell them that they haven’t just deactivated their Facebook account? In most cases, their name will not appear at all if they delete their account, but deleting is different from deactivating. Deleting is a more permanent step, while deactivating just means they stay off Facebook for a while.

The platform can be a distraction at a busy time, so deactivating it is an attempt to ditch Facebook for a while. This may be why you haven’t heard of them, but they will likely be back soon.

Deletion means that they do not intend to return. In this case, their Messenger thread will read “Facebook User”. Know that they can still use Messenger without being on Facebook; However, if you can contact them here, at least you are still friends.

Can you invite friends who have prevented you from attending events?

People create events on Facebook to coordinate get-togethers, including birthday parties, dinners, and Christmas celebrations. But if you are blocked, you will not be able to invite this person.

go to the Events > Create Event > Create Special Event. After entering the details, you will need to invite specific people by tagging them. You cannot add anyone who has blocked your profile though.

Likewise, you cannot invite anyone who has blocked you to join or like Pages.

Try to block someone who has blocked you

This is not about revenge. By checking if you can block someone, you also check if they have deactivated their Facebook. Think of this as similar to tagging: you can only tag and tag people you haven’t been blocked from following! So you can only block people who haven’t blocked you.

Sign in and click the down arrow in the top right of your feed. go to the Settings & Privacy > Settings > Blocking and enter a name under it User ban. after clicking roadblocka list of profiles will appear, giving you the option to block them.

If this person is not listed, it means that they either deactivated/deleted their account or blocked you first.

Can I see who has blocked me on Facebook?

The only way you can be 100% sure if you have been blocked is to ask the person directly. You probably wouldn’t want to do that (it’s boring too). It is better to find alternatives and know the truth.

You can also ask a mutual contact to know, although you need to tread carefully here. A mutual friend can at least tell you if your contact’s profile has been deactivated or deleted.

What to do if you are blocked on Facebook

If it turns out that someone has blocked you on Facebook, you will feel frustrated and angry, especially if you feel you did nothing wrong.

In most cases, it is not worth worrying about it. It could be something small, like a simple misunderstanding. Or it could just be a conflict between characters. The point is, it’s pretty much out of your hands.


Ask yourself if someone blocking you is worth losing sleep. Spoiler alert: It’s not. It’s only Facebook.

Yes, you can find the person in question and ask why you have been blocked. You can find another way to talk to them and tell them how you feel. Or you can just let it go. After all, why would we cause more friction about something so trivial in the end?

Should you worry about ban?

Social media allows you to reach the people you might be staying away from. It keeps the world connected. However, it can feed your worst fears.

That’s why it’s important to remember that everyone has something going on in their life that they don’t want to share. Something to keep them busy or distracted. It doesn’t always mean that they’ve forgotten about you or really hated you.

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Related posts

Leave a Comment