How to manage Files Shared with Me on Google Drive

If you are part of a large or busy team, there is a good chance that you will share Google Drive files among yourselves. Depending on the size of your team, this could mean dozens of files per day.

After a while, you may end up with hundreds or thousands of files in Google Drive. In this article, you will learn how to manage shared Google Drive files to prevent clutter.


Manage Google Drive “shared with me” files

Things you can see in the Shared with me section of Google Drive include files and folders that were shared with you, and files that were shared using a link you’ve already opened.

In addition, you can also find details about files that have been shared with you under the “Shared with me” group: these details include the name of the file or folder, the type of file, for example, documents or spreadsheets, the person who shared it with you, and the date Share it with you.

We’ve covered how to use shared files on Google Drive. Now let’s see the different ways to manage shared files in Google Drive.

1. Switch from grid layout to menu layout

Google Drive allows you to view your files in either a grid layout or a list layout. By default, it is set to grid layout. However, the grid layout displays your files as large square cards.

Although the grid layout provides a quick preview, it can quickly take up a lot of space on your screen. Thus, it only allows you to view a few files at a time. This may require you to keep scrolling for a while to access the files below.

With List Layout, on the other hand, your files and folders are listed chronologically giving you a comprehensive view, but with fewer details. This can help if you have a large archive of files to sort.

How to change drive layout

To change the layout:

  1. Go to your……. Google Drive Log in if you haven’t already.
  2. Click shared with me in the right pane.
  3. Go to Planning (a table-like icon) to your far right, just below the settings gear icon, and click it.


This will switch your layout from grid to list. You can always change this at any time by clicking on the layout box again. Just remember that your choice of layout can affect visibility and access to a file or folder in Shared with me.

2. Organize files by adding shortcuts to Drive

Another way to manage shared files is to add shortcuts to them or organize them into folders. By grouping similar files into a folder, you make it easier to identify specific types of files that others have shared with you.

You can add files to the “My Drive” folder, the “Computers” folder, to the “Starred” folder, or simply create a new folder. You can also color-code Google Drive folders for easier identification.

How to add files to the shortcut in Drive

Here’s how to move Shared with me files into folders.

  1. Go to your……. Google Drive the account.
  2. Click shared with me.
  3. Right-click on the file you want to move to a folder.
  4. Click Add a shortcut to Drive.

  5. Click the forward arrow to the right my leadership.
  6. Click on New file button at the bottom left.
  7. Name the folder and click the blue tick, and you’re done.

You can now start moving the shared files to this folder. To access the transferred files, simply click on My Drive, Computers, or Starred. If you create a new folder, you can find it inside My Files.

3. Delete files or folders that you no longer use

Although this may sound simple, you will actually want to think twice before deleting a file or folder that has been shared with you. This is because the files shared with you do not belong to you.

However, if the file or folder has outlived its usefulness, you can go ahead and delete it. It is one way to clean Google Drive in general. Deleting a shared file does not delete it from the owner’s Google Drive.


But if, for any reason, you need to reuse the deleted shared file, you will need to ask the owner to re-share it again. Otherwise, only do this if you are sure you will not need the file again.

How to remove ‘shared with me’ files on Google Drive

To delete a shared file or folder:

  1. Go to your……. Google Drive the account.
  2. Click shared with me And go to the files section.
  3. Right-click on the file or folder you want to delete.
  4. Scroll down the menu options and tap Removal.

After you remove a shared file, if you reopen it, it will appear again in Shared with me. It may also appear in the results when you search for files in Drive.

4. Back up files shared with me

Although Google Drive gives you free cloud storage, it has 15 GB of space allowed, and your “shared with me” content counts toward that limit. So, if you suspect that the “Shared with me” files exceed this limit, you can delete them.

But before deleting it, make sure to download it first and backup it to an external storage in case you need it in the future. Better yet, buy storage from Google.

Google’s paid cloud storage plans start at 100GB for the basics all the way up to 2TB for a premium. It also comes with additional perks like access to Google experts, the ability to share with up to five people, and additional member benefits.

How to back up Shared With Me files

To download Shared with me files:

  1. Go to your……. shared with me Section.
  2. Right-click on the file you want to download.
  3. Scroll down the menu options and tap Download.

If your account is about to run out of storage space, you may need to purchase more. Here’s how to buy Google storage:

  1. Go to your……. Google Drive the account.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the right pane.
  3. Click Buy storage space.

You will be redirected to the payment page, where you can make your choice and make the payment.

How to remove yourself from shared files on Google Drive

Assuming someone added you to a document or folder without your permission, you can easily remove yourself from the shared files. Here’s how:

  1. Launch the Drive app on your mobile phone.
  2. Click on subscriber button.
  3. Tap the three-dot (More Actions) button next to the file or folder you want to remove yourself from.
  4. tap on Access management.
  5. Click on your account name and press Removal.

This will remove you from the shared document.

Arrange the “Shared with Me” files section

Shared files can quickly become a mess and crowd your Google Drive. You can fix this by following the steps in this article to put things in order and keep them organized. A neat “Shared with me” section is more visually appealing, which makes accessing and retrieving documents easier and faster, saves time, and improves productivity. What’s more, almost all of these methods are free. Additionally, you can always try other cloud-based alternatives like Dropbox, OneDrive, Flickr, Amazon S3, NAS, and WebDav.

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Related posts

Leave a Comment