How to remove an email account from Microsoft Outlook

If you don’t want to use a specific email account with Microsoft Outlook, or you want to close your Outlook account completely, it’s easy to do. We’ll show you how in this guide.

When you remove an email account, Outlook stops syncing new email messages from that account. It also deletes the cached content of your email account, such as emails and attachments. However, note that the original emails are preserved with your email service.

If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you can do so by closing your Microsoft account, as we’ll explain in this guide.

Remove an email account from the Outlook app

To get rid of an email account so that you don’t see its emails, first launch the Outlook app on your computer.

When Outlook opens, in the upper-right corner, click “File”.

Choose "a file" in the upper left corner.

In the right pane, choose Account Settings > Account Settings.

The Account Settings window will be launched. Here, click on the Email tab and select the email account to remove. Next, in the menu bar above the selected email account, click “Remove”.

If you are removing the only Outlook email account, the app will ask you to create a file data file.

Choose "yes" in prompt.

To do this, in the Account Settings window, access the Data Files tab. Then, click Add followed by OK to create a new Outlook Data File.

Back in the Email tab, choose the email account to remove and select Remove.

You will see a warning message that the cached content of your email account will be deleted offline. This only affects the local copy of your account data on your computer; Your original data associated with your account is preserved.

Proceed by clicking “Yes”.

Choose "yes" in prompt.

And you are all set. Outlook has removed the selected email account and you will no longer see its emails in the app. Enjoy!

Related: How to delete multiple emails in Microsoft Outlook

Permanently close your Outlook (Microsoft) account

If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you will have to close your Microsoft account. Doing so will remove all data associated with your account, including emails, purchases, and other items.

To go further, head over to our dedicated guide on How to delete a Microsoft account. There, follow the steps to terminate your account. Once you do that, your account will be locked and you will no longer be able to access it.

And this is how you reject your Outlook app and also say goodbye to your Outlook account forever!


Want to add a new email account to Outlook? If so, it’s easy to configure this email client using any of your email accounts.

Related: How to set up a POP3 or IMAP account in Microsoft Outlook



(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Related posts

Leave a Comment